[Top view] Wuhan

The images below represent Wuhan captured with SAR Copernicus Sentinel-1 and optical Copernicus Sentinel-2.

Wuhan sits at the confluence of the Han River flowing into the Yangtze River at the East of the Jianghan Plain.

The metropolitan area consists of three centers (Wuchang, Hankou and Hanyang) commonly called “Three Towns of Wuhan”.
The name Wuhan is obtained by combining “Wu”, the initial syllable of Wuchang, and “Han”, the initial syllable of Hankou and Hanyang.

The three parts of Wuhan city are visible in satellite images: Wuchang (right), Hankou (top left) and Hanyang (bottom left)

The consolidation of these cities occurred in 1927 and Wuhan was thereby established. The three former cities face each other across the rivers and are linked by bridges (see the images), including one of the first modern bridges in China, known as the “First Bridge”.

Wuhan captured with Copernicus Sentinel-1


Wuhan captured with Copernicus Sentinel-2  (False color :R(B4), G(B3), B(R2) )




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.